St. Germain the ancient residence of the kings of France.

Saint-Germain-en-Laye, Castle, residence, Robert Batty, France,
The Castle of St. Germain.


THE Castle of St. Germain was formerly one of the finest royal residences in France. It took its name from a monastery, which was built in the forest of Laye by King Robert. In the year 1370, Charles V. laid the first foundations of a castle. It was taken by the English in the reign of Charles VI., but was retaken in that of Charles VII.

Francis I. whose passion for hunting detained him frequently in this residence, caused the old castle to be pulled down, and a new one to be built nearer to the river. This is known by the name of the Old Castle, to distinguish it from another built by Henri IV., and of which there is now nothing remaining but some ruins. Louis XIII. embellished it, and Louis XIV. added the large towers which flank its angles.

This palace, which was often inhabited by the Kings of France, and where Henry II., Charles IX., and Louis XIV were born, is now entirely stripped of all its ornaments, and is merely made use of as a sort of barrack. In the year 1689, the King of France gave an asylum to King James II. of England, who died there in the year 1701.

Source: French scenery: from drawings made in 1819 by Robert Batty (1788 or 1789-1848). London: Published by Rodwell & Martin, New Bond Street, 1822.

Note:  Arch of Trajan on the mole at Ancona.

Support and Seduction: The History of Corsets and Bras (Abradale Books) by Beatrice Fontanel.

Thoughout the ages, women's breasts have been subjected to the endless whims of fashion.

From the ancient Greeks to Mae West and Madonna, this light-hearted book charts the changing shapes of female beauty. The elegant and amusing images - including fashion drawings, paintings, photographs, and film stills - illustrate the often surprising history of the garments women have worn for support - and seduction.

Leave a Reply

Auguste Racinet. The Costume History by Françoise Tétart-Vittu.

Racinet's Costume History is an invaluable reference for students, designers, artists, illustrators, and historians; and a rich source of inspiration for anyone with an interest in clothing and style. Originally published in France between 1876 and 1888, Auguste Racinet’s Le Costume historique was in its day the most wide-ranging and incisive study of clothing ever attempted.

Covering the world history of costume, dress, and style from antiquity through to the end of the 19th century, the six volume work remains completely unique in its scope and detail. “Some books just scream out to be bought; this is one of them.” ―

The Fabric of Civilization: How Textiles Made the World Paperback – December 7, 2021
by Virginia Postrel (Author)

From Neanderthal string to 3D knitting, an “expansive” global history that highlights “how textiles truly changed the world” (Wall Street Journal)

Fashionpedia - The Visual Dictionary Of Fashion Design

Fashionpedia - The Visual Dictionary Of Fashion Design

FASHIONPEDIA is a visual fashion dictionary covering all the technical terms from style to material to production with illustrations and infographics. It encompasses rich, extensive information and yet is easy to read. Whether you are an industry insider or a fashion connoisseur, FASHIONPEDIA is all you will ever need to navigate the fashion scene.

Textilepedia. The Complete Fabric Guide.

The Textile Manual is an encyclopaedia of textile information, from material to yarn, from fabric structure to the finishing process. Encompassing practical tips for a range of textiles and detailed visuals, this ultra-accessible manual is the perfect companion for fashion aficionados and aspiring fashion designers.


Couture: then and now Clothes define people. A person's clothing, whether it's a sari, kimono, or business suit, is an essential key to his or her culture, class, personality, or even religion. The Kyoto Costume Institute recognizes the importance of understanding clothing sociologically, historically, and artistically.